ASEAN:The Association of Southeast Asian Nations

What is ASEAN?

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a regional organization which was established to promote political and social stability amid rising tensions among the Asia-Pacific’s post-colonial states.

  • The motto of ASEAN is “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”.
  • 8th August is observed as ASEAN Day.
  • ASEAN Secretariat – Indonesia, Jakarta.

Member Nations

  1. Indonesia
  2. Malaysia
  3. Philippines
  4. Singapore
  5. Thailand
  6. Brunei
  7. Vietnam
  8. Laos
  9. Myanmar
  10. Cambodia

Genesis of ASEAN

1967 – ASEAN was established with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by its founding fathers.

– Founding Fathers of ASEAN are: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

1990s – Membership doubled after the changing conditions in the region following the end of the Vietnam War in 1975 and the Cold War in 1991.

–          Addition of Brunei (1984), Vietnam (1995), Laos and Myanmar (1997), and Cambodia (1999).

1995 – Members signed a deal to create a nuclear-free zone in Southeast Asia.

1997 – Adoption of ASEAN Vision 2020.

2003 – Bali Concord II for the establishment of an ASEAN Community.

2007 – Cebu Declaration, to accelerate the establishment of ASEAN Community by 2015.

2008 – ASEAN Charter comes into force and becomes a legally binding agreement.

2015 – Launch of ASEAN Community.

ASEAN Community is comprised of three pillars:

  1. ASEAN Political-Security Community
  2. ASEAN Economic Community
  3. ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community


– To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations.

– To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.

– To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields.

– To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilisation of agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, the improvement of transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of peoples.

– To promote Southeast Asian studies.

– To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations.

UPSC IAS Mains Exam Study Material

General Studies Paper-I

General Studies Paper-2

General Studies Paper-3

General Studies Paper-IV

Leave a Reply