Medieval Indian History

After the death of Harshavardhana India witnessed significant changes, this period is also known as twilight of ancient India.

  • Pataliputra permanently lost its prominence as symbol of sovereignty of India.
  • Kanyakubja (kannauj) became symbol of sovereignty of India in early medieval times.
  • For the control of kanyakubja (Ganga Yamuna doab region) three Indian dynasties waged continuous wars, which is known as triangular warfare. Palas , Prathiharas  and Rashtrakutas  participated in warfare.
  • Decentralization was on its peak, paved ways for emergence of Indian feudalism.
  • Many regional powers emerged powerful, political unity of India was shattered into pieces.
  • new ruling clan RAJPUTS

Medieval Indian History

Major Dynasties of Early Medieval Period

Chola Empire

Turkish conquest of India

Rajput states

Delhi Sultanate

Mughal Empire (Including later Mughals)

Maratha Confederacy

Southern Dynasties


Bahamani Kingdom

Religious Movements during Medieval Period

Leave a Reply