Physical division of Rajasthan Study Notes

Physical Division of Rajasthan

Rajasthan is divided into 4 physical divisions which have further sub-division.

Plains of Western Desert

  • It is a special geographical region which is also called ‘The Great Indian Desert’ or Thar Desert.
  • It covers the districts like Barmer,Jaisalmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Pali, Jalore, Nagaur, Sikar, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Hanumangarh and Ganganagar.
  • It is further divided into 4 subcategories.

Sandy Arid Region

a) This is a dry region having annual rainfall less than 25 centimeters.

b) Barmer, Bikaner and western part of Jodhpur and Churu are included in this region.

c) Sand Dunes are mostly found in this region.

Luni-Jawai Basin

a. It is a semi arid plain.

b. Luni and its tributaries rivers flow in this region.

c. Pali, Jalore, Jodhpur and Nagaur are included in this region.

d. It is a river-based plain; hence it is called Luni Basin.

Shekhawati Region

It is also called ‘Banger Region’.

Jhunjhunu, Sikar and Churu and Northern part of Nagaur are included in it.

This is a sandy region having sand dunes of less height.

Here the sand dunes are of the transverse type.

Plain of Ghaghar

Plains of Ganganagar and Hanumangarh are formed by the flow of Ghaggar River.

Presently, this river is considered dead because it doesn’t have a flowing way.

Ghaggar River is the ancient river Saraswati which is disappeared.

Thus it became a plain suitable for agriculture.

Aravalli Range

It is the oldest mountain range in the world.

It has a length of 692 km from Delhi to Palanpur in Gujarat.

It is expanded in seven districts of Rajasthan: – Sirohi, Udaipur, Rajsamand, Ajmer, Jaipur, Dausa and Alwar.

It is divided into three subcategories

  1. Southern Aravalli Range
  2. Central Aravalli Range
  3. Northern Aravalli Range

Eastern Plain

  • This region is in the east side of Aravalli region which includes districts like Bharatpur, Alwar, Dholpur,Karauli, Sawai Madhopur, Jaipur, Dausa, Tonk and Bhilwara.
  • This region is the River Basin region which is formed by the collection of soil by rivers.
  • This region has three sub-regions.

Banas-Banganga Basin

  • This plain is formed by Banas River and its tributaries like Banganga, Bedach, Kothari, Den, Sohadra, Manasi, Dhundha,Bandi, Morel, Vaagan, Gambhir, etc.
  • This plain has the height between 150 to 300 metres above the sea level and its slope is towards east.

Chambal Basin

  • This region includes districts likeKota, Sawai Madhopur, Karauli and Dholpur.
  • Ravines (Bihad) of Chambal are located in Sawai Madhopur, Karauli and Dhaulpur.

Central Mahi Basin or Chappan Plain

  1. It is expanded in the district of Dungarpur, Banswara and Pratapgarh.
  2. Mahi River began its journey from Madhya Pradesh and flowing through Rajasthan and Gujrat falls in the Arabian Sea.
  3. In Rajasthan, it flows through ‘Bagad’(Local name for Laciniated land) region.
  4. In between Pratapgarh and Banswara, a group of 56 villages is located, thus it is also called Chappan Plain.

South-Eastern Plateau Region or Hadoti Region

It is expanded in the districts like Kota, Bundi, Jhalawar and Baran.

This region has many mountains ranges having the average height of 500 meters.

Mukundra Hills and Bundi Hills are famous spots.

Chambal and its tributaries like Kalisindh,Para van and Parvati flow in this region which is boon for agriculture in this region.

River System and Lakes of Rajasthan

  • Chambal and Mahi are the perennial rivers of Rajasthan.
  • River drainage system of Rajasthan is decided by Aravalli Range which works as the divides the rivers of Rajasthan in two parts.

Leave a Reply