The Ebola virus

Key Points:

The Ebola virus returned to the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) just days after the World Health Organization (WHO) announced, on July 24, that the Ebola outbreak had ended there.

In 2014, Ebola first outbreak had struck three West African countries (Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone)

It is a rare and deadly disease in people and nonhuman primates located mainly in sub-Saharan Africa caused by an infection with a group of viruses within the genus of Ebola virus.

  • Ebola virus (species Zaire Ebola virus)
  • Sudan virus (species Sudan Ebola virus)
  • Tai Forest virus (species Tai Forest Ebola virus, formerly Cote d’Ivoire Ebola virus)
  • Bundibugyo virus (species Bundibugyo Ebola virus)

Leave a Reply